It is possible to visit this attraction while on the following tours:
The Amalienborg Palace is the home of the Danish royal family, comprised of four identical palace facades around an octagonal square it is the place to go if you want to witness the changing of the royal life guard at 12 o clock every day.
Initially it was built for noble families but when the Christiansborg palace burned down in 1794, Amalienborg became the official royal residence. It was home to various kings and their families thus the naming of each palace after the respective king that resided there.
The four palaces are named after Christian VII, Christian VIII, Christian IX and Frederik VIII however only the palaces of Christian VII and Christian VIII are currently open.
Christian VII’s Palace is also known as Moltke’s Palace, and was originally built for Lord High Steward Adam Gottlob Moltke. It is the southwestern palace and has been since 1885 used to accommodate and entertain prominent guests, for receptions, and for ceremonial purposes.
Christian VIII’s Palace is also known as Levetzau’s Palace and was originally built for Privy Councillor Count Christian Frederik Levetzau in 1750–60. It is the northwestern palace and was the home of Crown Prince Frederik until 2004. After his marriage to Crown Princess Mary, they moved into the Chancellery House at Fredensborg.
Frederick VIII’s Palace is also known as Brockdorff’s Palace. It is the northeastern palace and was the home of Queen Dowager Ingrid until her death in 2000. It has recently been renovated and is the home of the Crown Prince Frederik and the Crown Princess Mary.
Christian IX’s Palace is the southeastern palace and is also known as Schack’s Palace. It has been the home of the royal couple since 1967. Building work was commenced in 1750 by Eigtved and was supervised first by architect Christian Josef Zuber and later by Philip de Lange. The equestrian statue in the middle of the square is of king Frederik V and it was unveiled in 1771, five years after the king’s death.